Anne Arundel Leadership Awards spotlight people transforming county landscape – Capital Gazette

On Monday, Leadership Anne Arundel will celebrate the graduation of 45 flagship programs and 22 Neighborhood Leadership Academy participants during the Community Leadership Tribute and Graduation at the Hall at Live! Casino & Hotel.

Each year, Leadership Anne Arundel hosts a celebration to honor the graduates of the Flagship and Neighborhood Leadership Academy classes, as well as Excellence in Leadership, Distinguished Graduate, and Bertina Nick Flagship Scholarship recipients.

Featured honorees in 2022 include Leadership Excellence Laureate, Hospice of the Chesapeake and Distinguished Alumni, The Honorable Cathleen M. Vitale and Jerray Slocum. The 2022 Bertina Nick Scholarship recipient will be announced live at the event.

The annual tribute to Community Leadership and Graduation Celebration celebrates more than 25 years of contributions, collaboration, innovation and leadership from countless Leadership Anne Arundel graduates. More than 1,600 LAA graduates have transformed the landscape of our community by serving in the public, private, nonprofit, and government sectors – all poised to develop, nurture, and connect the next generation of leaders.

The event will take place on Monday from 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at The Hall at Live! Casino & Hotel. The program will include inspirational multimedia, star guest remarks, award presentations and recognition for graduates of the Class of 2022 Flagship and Neighborhood Leadership Academy. For more information, visit

The best daily stories


Get today’s local news, sports, views, reports and events.

Here is the flagship class of 2022: Michael Adams, Sascer, Clagett & Bucher; Shawn P. Ames, MDOT – Maryland Aviation Administration; Donna Anderson, Chesapeake Arts Center; Stanley Brandford, Annapolis Police Department; Dr. Coryse Brathwaite, Luminis Health – Anne Arundel Medical Center; Karen Theimer Brown, Historic Annapolis; Lindley K. Bucci, Radio One, Inc.; Judy Buddensick, Frances Marketing Group, LLC; Kristie Clements, TMDL CPA & Consultants, LLC; Patrick Cole, First Citizens Bank; Catherine Comer, Central Arc Chesapeake Region; Chanel Compton, Banneker-Douglass Museum; Kam D. Cooke, Anne Arundel County Police Department; Daryl Cooke, Community Improvement Foundation; Kait Dawson, Council for Professional Recognition; Beryle Downs, Anne Arundel County Housing Commission; Tonii Gedin, Anne Arundel County Health Department; Gloria Davis Harberts, Anne Arundel County Public Library; Perry Hepworth, Fidelity Investments; Susan M. Iaquinta, UM-BWMC Foundation; Dominic M. Imburgia, Baltimore Gas & Electric; Erika A. Johnson, Pretty Girl Academy, Inc.; Matthew Johnston, Federation of Arundel Rivers; Keisha Kersey, Peerless Rens Club, Inc.; Sarah Knebel, Scenic Rivers Land Trust; Tina Ladabouche, National Security Agency; Bekki Leonard, Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corp.; Tyler Lewis, law firm of James E. Crawford, Jr. & Associates; Perry A. Limes, Hospice of the Chesapeake; Dr. Shuang Liu, Anne Arundel Community College; Brian Lynch, UM-BWMC; Suzanne Martin, Annapolis Immigration Justice Network; Jeff Morales, live! Casino & Hotel; Vincent Molden, Office of the County Executive of Anne Arundel; Kristen Pironis, Visit Annapolis and Anne Arundel County; Tricia Sanborn, Anne Arundel County Arts Council; Jeremy Schneider, M&T Bank; Elizabeth A. Schuman, Hospice of the Chesapeake; Sandra Carolina Seldes, ITnova; Carol B. Sisco, Annapolis Maritime Museum and Park; Heather Skipper, Naval Academy Business Services Division; Cathleen Sparrow, Anne Arundel County Public Library; Caitlin Swaim, Annapolis Maritime Museum and Park; Daniel Watkins, Luminis Health – Anne Arundel Medical Center; and David A. Wright, Baltimore Gas & Electric

And here is the Neighborhood Leadership Academy Class of 2022: Femi F. Akingbasote, Nikki Pritchett-Johnson, Andres Aviles, Akil Leggett, Kiona L. Bailey, Keona Mackell, Marsha A. Briley, Katie Melissa Anne Mason, Adam Commodore “Definite Origin”, Alexis Mozier, Shay Cook, Latoya Neal, Lori Fowler, Laurie Nelson, Ratasha Harley, Michele Noble, Kim R. Harris, Lovell Offer, Teona Terré Hayes, Todd Powell, Sara B. Ironman and Suzanne Vizcarra

The Excellence in Leadership Award, selected by the LAA Board of Directors and sponsored by Live! Casino & Hotel, recognizes a business or individual in Anne Arundel County who has had a significant local impact on our quality of life. The 2022 Excellence in Leadership Award will recognize Hospice of the Chesapeake for its steadfast presence and value to the community and legacy of leadership over its 43 years in Anne Arundel County.

Distinguished Graduate Scholarships include:

The Honorable Cathleen M. Vitale, Associate Judge of the 5th Judicial Circuit, Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, was selected for her extensive record of community involvement and public service in the years following her award of his diploma from LAA Flagship in 2004.

Jerray Slocum, assistant vice president and head of business development at Shore United Bank, was selected for the energy, enthusiasm and dedication he displayed after graduating with the flagship class of 2020, serving in several non-profit boards, including the Anne Arundel County Arts Council, Rotary of Annapolis, and the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra and her commitment to fostering diversity and inclusion through her leadership professional and community.

The recipient of the Bertina Nick Flagship Scholarship will be announced at the event.