Creative Capital funds 50 artist projects for a total of $ 2.5 million. –

Creative Capital, a New York-based nonprofit, has announced the 50 artist projects it will fund as part of its 2022 Creative Capital Awards. Each project will receive varying amounts up to $ 50,000, the amount of funds administered this year amounting to $ 2.5 million.

For the 2022 cycle, Creative Capital has increased the number of projects it will fund from 35 to 50, and the organization reported that 90% of the winners identify as Asian, Black, Indigenous or Latino artists. Selected from over 4,000 nominations received after an open call, the winners were chosen by a 14-member panel that included curators John Andress, Edgar Miramontes, María Elena Ortiz and Jasmine Wahi as well as previous winners Zach Blas, Srikanth Reddy and Kaneza Schaal.

Related Articles

In a statement, Aliza Shvarts, Director of Art Initiatives at Creative Capital, said: “The selected projects critically and creatively address some of the most pressing issues of our time, as well as the painful historical legacies that continue to shape our present. – from abortion, to money laundering in the art world, to the mass graves of the convict rental program, to the lasting imprint that colonization left on the construction of time zones. These artists demonstrate, with urgency and power, the many ways in which creative practice not only engages the world, but strives to shape it. “

The American artist is one of the most prominent winners for a sculpture and video installation titled Shaper of God on the life and work of author Octavia E. Butler and the migration of black Americans to California. JJJJ Jerome Ellis won a scholarship for ANTIPHONE, described as an “open and continuous song engaging book, album and live performance forms” that delves into the archives of so-called “runaway slave commercials”.

MacArthur “Genius” winner Teresita Fernández will collaborate with Bárbaro Martínez-Ruiz and Ada Ferrer on Aponte: an opera, a musical work and installation about the life of Aponte, a free black carpenter who lived in Havana in the 19th century and created a “Book of Paintings” to organize a rebellion against slavery in Cuba. Kameelah Janan Rasheed received a scholarship for Black orbits, a digital archive of black vernacular photography.

Other notable projects include Maura Brewer’s video essay Private Client Services, on money laundering through art acquisitions, and Viva Ruiz’s TThank goodness for the Telenovela Pilot abortion, a narrative film that seeks to “spread the message that abortion is health”. Graham Haynes received funds for Requiem for young black men murdered by police, an evening performance with a 40-voice choir and orchestra about the police murders of black men. Christopher K. Morgan will create a dance-theater piece entitled N (8) enough drawing inspiration from the stories of the Hpa-Hawaiian people and the dance form of the hula, among other sources.

The full list of Creative Capital Award 2022 winners follows below. Full project descriptions can be viewed here.

  • American artist
  • Germaine barnes
  • Dark quantum futurism (Rasheedah Phillips, Camae Ayewa)
  • Brewer Maura
  • Dakota camacho
  • Z Campbell Crystal
  • Etienne Charles
  • Alexandra chreiteh
  • Ilana Coleman & Jamie Gonçalves
  • Xavier Cortada
  • Monica de la Torre
  • Du Yun
  • JJJJJerome Ellis
  • Alia farid
  • Teresita Fernández, Bárbaro Martínez-Ruiz and Ada Ferrer
  • Deborah Goffe
  • Clement Hil Goldberg
  • Graham haynes
  • Jasmin hearn
  • Randall Horton & Devin B Waldman
  • Madeleine Hunt Ehrlich
  • Brandon Kazen-Maddox
  • Lucie Kim
  • Tan Lin
  • Marina Magalhães
  • Ramón Miranda Beltrán & Madeline Jiménez Santil
  • Christophe K. Morgan
  • Cyrus Moussavi
  • Cheswayo Mphanza
  • Mimi Onuoha
  • Karthik Pandian
  • Raúl O. Paz-Pastrana
  • Kameelah Janan Rasheed
  • The School of the Revolution (Jennifer Moon, Jessie Closson, Clara Philbrick, Devin Alejandro-Wilder)
  • Sarah Rosalena
  • Viva ruiz
  • Suneil Sanzgiri
  • Jacques Schwarz-Bart
  • Paola Segura Cornelio
  • Nyugen smith
  • Mikaal Sulaiman
  • Steven Kazuo Takasugi
  • Sam Tam Ham
  • Steven tamayo
  • Justin randolph thompson
  • Marcos Varela
  • Edisa Weeks
  • Winter pioneer
  • Pinar Yoldas
  • Zhalarina