Develop Amaravati as ‘sole PA capital’ or face defeat in 2024, Prakasam farmers tell government

They express their solidarity with the Maha Padayatra from Amaravati to Arasavalli from September 12

They express their solidarity with the Maha Padayatra from Amaravati to Arasavalli from September 12

Peasants in Prakasam district on Sunday expressed their solidarity with their Amaravati counterparts for the success of Amaravati’s “Maha Padayatra” in Arasavalli from September 12.

At a meeting of farmers and opposition party leaders, Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM), Prakasam district organizer Ch. Ranga Rao suggested that the YSRCP government develop Amaravati as the “one and only capital of Andhra Pradesh” by fully following the verdict of the PA High Court in letter and spirit, failing which people would teach the ruling party a good lesson in the 2024 elections in the Assembly.

The YSRCP, which supported the cause before coming to power, had no moral right to stay in power after failing to respect farmers’ feelings, he said.

Amaravati Parirakshana Samiti Joint Action Committee Prakasam District Co-Lead A. Venkateswara Rao recalled the story of the protracted struggle of farmers who parted ways with their precious lands for the construction of a world-class capital for the residual state of Andhra Pradesh after the bifurcation when a single development model was then proposed by the state government.

Acharya NG Ranga Kisan Samstha General Secretary Ch. Seshaiah urged the state government to honor the agreement reached with the farmers without relying on false prestige, and immediately withdraw the cases imposed on the farmers, farm workers and to their supporters.

call center

Abandoning its ambivalent stance, the Center should immediately develop the 42 central government institutions for which land had been allocated in Amaravati, said Prakasam District Farmers Association Chairman Mr. Srinivasa Rao.

It is regrettable that the state government tried to quell the Amaravati farmers’ unrest by “using the police in an undemocratic way”, said the leader of the farmers’ wing of the Telugu Desam party, K. Venkaiah .

AICC Member Sripathi Prakasam, CPI District Secretary ML Narayana, CPI(M) Municipal Secretary G. Ramesh, CPI Chief U. Prakasam and Poura Samajam District Chairman Prakasam G. Narasimha Rao were among those who supported the farmers’ agitation.